Special Commission on The Future of the New York State Courts

Message from the Chair

Commissioners & Staff

State-Funded Courts:
Restructuring Proposal

Town & Village Courts:
Hearing Notices
OCA Action Plan
Reform Proposal


Proposed Legislation


Contact Us

Commissioners & Staff

Commissioners | Counsel | OCA

Members of the Special Commission

Carey R. Dunne, Chair

Partner, Davis Polk & Wardwell; New York, NY

Hon. Richard J. Bartlett

Partner, Bartlett, Pontiff, Steward & Rhodes PC; Glens Falls, NY (former and first Chief Administrative Judge, Office of Court Administration)

Hon. Seymour W. Boyers

Partner, Gair, Gair, Conason, Steigman & Mackauf; New York, NY (former Associate Justice, Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department)

Gary S. Brown

Director, Westchester County Department of Consumer Protection (former Executive Director, Fund for Modern Courts)

Elizabeth A. Bryson

Corporate Vice President, New York Life Insurance Company; New York, NY

Eve Burton

Vice President and General Counsel, The Hearst Corporation; New York, NY

A. Vincent Buzard

Partner, Harris Beach PLLC; Rochester, NY (past President, New York State Bar Association)

Hon. John P. Collins

Administrative Judge, New York State Supreme Court, Bronx County, Criminal Division

Hon. Tandra L. Dawson

Acting Justice, New York State Supreme Court, First Judicial District, Bronx, NY

Hon. Mark G. Farrell

Town Justice, Amherst, NY; Partner, Law Offices of Mark G. Farrell & Associates; Williamsville, NY

John Feinblatt

New York City Criminal Justice Coordinator

Daniel L. Feldman

Executive Director and General Counsel, New York State Trial Lawyers Association; New York, NY

Hon. Evelyn Frazee

Justice, New York State Supreme Court, Seventh Judicial District, Rochester, NY

Hon. David Otis Fuller, Jr.

Village Justice, Tuckahoe, NY; Partner, Bosworth, Gray & Fuller; Bronxville, NY; President, New York State Magistrates Association

Hon. Samuel L. Green

Associate Justice, Appellate Division, Fourth Judicial Department, Buffalo, NY

Henry M. Greenberg

Counsel to New York State Attorney General Andrew M. Cuomo

Robert L. Haig

Partner, Kelley Drye & Warren LLP; New York, NY (Co-Chair, New York Commercial Courts Task Force)

Hon. Theodore T. Jones

Associate Judge, New York State Court of Appeals

Hon. Judy Harris Kluger

Deputy Chief Administrative Judge for Court Operations and Planning for New York State

Hon. James J. Lack

Judge, New York State Court of Claims, Hauppague, NY (former New York State Senator and Chair, Committee on the Judiciary)

Abraham M. Lackman

President, Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities; Albany, NY (former Secretary of the New York State Senate Finance Committee)

Hon. Milton Mollen

Counsel, Herrick, Feinstein LLP; New York, NY (former Presiding Justice, Appellate Division, Second Judicial Department)

Richard P. Nathan

Co-Director, The Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government, State University of New York; Albany, NY

Hon. Vincent Reilly

Justice, New York State Supreme Court, Schenectady, NY

Hon. Nelson Roman

Justice, New York State Supreme Court, Bronx County

Jay G. Safer

Partner, Lord, Bissell & Brook, LLP; New York, NY

Hon. Richard D. Simons

Counsel, McMahon & Grow; Rome, NY (former Associate Judge, New York State Court of Appeals)

Hon. Elaine J. Stack

Justice, New York State Supreme Court, Tenth Judicial District, Roslyn, NY

David W. Sussman

Executive Vice President and Senior Legal Advisor, MTV Networks; New York, NY

Hon. John W. Sweeny, Jr.

Associate Justice, Appellate Division, First Judicial Department, Carmel, NY

William Treanor

Dean and Professor of Law, Fordham University School of Law; New York, NY

Hon. Terence Wolfe

Town Justice, Walworth, NY; President and CEO, Service Education, Inc.; Penfield, NY

Kathryn S. Wylde

President and CEO, Partnership for New York City; New York, NY

return to top

Counsel to the Commission

Elliot Moskowitz

Chief Counsel

Kathryn Carney Cole


Shannon Manigault


Sarah McDonald


Josh Plaut


Andrew Schlichter


Heather Ward


Rebecca Winters


return to top

Office of Court Administration Staff

Marc C. Bloustein

First Deputy & Legislative Counsel

David Evan Markus

Special Counsel for Programs and Policy & Deputy Legislative Counsel

Diane Schilling

Special Counsel for the Justice Courts,
Office of the Deputy Chief Admin. Judge

Paul Toomey

Supervising Attorney
City, Town and Village Court Resource Center

return to top